## RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE 2025-2026 DISTRICT TEACHERS OF THE YEAR

**WHEREAS,** the Alabama State Board of Education seeks to recognize and encourage excellence in education, both in teaching and learning, and celebrates the commitment of educators who demonstrate each day they enter the classrooms, engage students, and communicate with families who together make learning possible; and

**WHEREAS,** the Alabama Teacher of the Year Program is a means of identifying and rewarding some of the state's outstanding teachers who continue to hold true to their core values and belief that all students can learn and will learn; and

**WHEREAS,** highly skilled, dedicated, enthusiastic, and innovative teachers are essential in promoting excellence in Alabama's schools and empowering youth to become successful adults:

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** That the Alabama State Board of Education celebrates them for their commitment, sacrifice, dedication, and service to students in Alabama who have earned the distinction of District Teachers of the Year:

Angela Kirby, Gulf Shores Middle School, Gulf Shores City School System
District I Elementary Teacher of the Year

Kristen Madsen, Gulf Shores High School, Gulf Shores City School System
District I Secondary Teacher of the Year

Amy Garrett, Center for Advanced Academics & Accelerated Learning, Pike County School System
District II Elementary Teacher of the Year

Joshua Wine, Auburn Junior High School, Auburn City School System
District II Secondary Teacher of the Year

Katie Collins, Bluff Park Elementary School, Hoover City School System
District III Elementary Teacher of the Year

Kristin Bundren, Spain Park High School, Hoover City School System
District III Secondary Teacher of the Year

Dr. Katherine A. Thomas, Edgewood Elementary School, Homewood City School System
District IV Elementary Teacher of the Year

Aubrey Bennett, George Washington Carver High School, Birmingham City School System
District IV Secondary Teacher of the Year

Lindsey Norris, Forest Avenue Elementary School, Montgomery County School System
District V Elementary Teacher of the Year

Roseann Byrd, Citronelle High School, Mobile County School System
District V Secondary Teacher of the Year

Andrea Dade Horn, Locust Fork Elementary School, Blount County School System
District VI Elementary Teacher of the Year

Heather Oden Pettit, Arab High School, Arab City School System
District VI Secondary Teacher of the Year

Deidra Brewer, Highland Park and Webster Elementary Schools, Muscle Shoals City School System
District VII Elementary Teacher of the Year

Andrew Lee Mills, Florence Middle School, Florence City School System
District VII Secondary Teacher of the Year

Catherine Megan Hockey, Rainbow Elementary School, Madison City School System
District VIII Elementary Teacher of the Year

Amanda J. Gudmundsson, Athens High School, Athens City School System
District VIII Secondary Teacher of the Year