

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

June 25, 2025

<u>M E M O R A N D U M</u>

- **TO:** City and County Superintendents of Education
- FROM: Eric G. Mackey EAW State Superintendent of Education
- RE: Fiscal Year 2025 Grant Supporting Implementation of the Alabama Literacy Act

In support of the educational initiatives of the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) and the Alabama Reading Initiative (ARI), an ARI Program Improvement Grant is an opportunity for local education agencies (LEAs) and educational preparation programs to enhance their implementation of the *Alabama Literacy Act* in Alabama public schools, including charter schools. This grant is designed to support initiatives that improve the quality, relevance, and effectiveness, ultimately preparing students for literacy success.

The deadline to submit the ARI Program Improvement Grant application is Thursday, July 31, 2025, at 11:59 p.m. Two steps are required for a successful submission.

- 1. The Curriculum Director/ARI Contact should discuss the grant proposal with the LEA's Chief Financial Officer and Superintendent for approval to submit.
- The Curriculum Director/ARI Contact (or other personnel appointed by the Superintendent) should complete the <u>ARI Program Improvement Grant Application</u>. Awards will be shared as soon as possible.

If you have any questions, please contact your Regional Literacy Leadership Specialist or contact Mrs. Vickie Chappelle, ARI Administrator, by telephone at 334-694-4632 or by email at <u>vchappelle@alsde.edu</u>.

EGM:BS:AM

cc:

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer City and County Curriculum Directors City and County Chief Financial Officers Mrs. Angela Martin Dr. Melissa Shields Mrs. Bonnie Short Mrs. Nancy Smith Mr. Brady Vaughn

FY25-2053

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigler District I

Tracie West District II

Kelly Mooney District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V Vice President

> Marie Manning District VI President Pro Tem

Allen Long, M.D. District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII