

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D.
State Superintendent of Education

Alabama State Board

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigle District I

Tracie West District II

Kelly Mooney

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D.
District V

Marie Manning District VI President Pro Tem

Allen Long, M.D. District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer July 1, 2025

MEMORANDUM

TO: City and County Superintendents of Education

FROM: Eric G. Mackey EAW

State Superintendent of Education

SUBJECT: Fiscal Year (FY) 2026 Application for Funds – Alabama Middle School

Computer Programming Initiative Competitive Grant

The Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) is pleased to announce the release of the FY 2026 application for the Alabama Middle School Computer Programming Initiative Competitive Grant. Funds will be awarded to eligible local education agencies (LEAs) through a competitive grant application process for school systems seeking to fund computer programming to middle school students (Grades 6-8).

In order to be eligible, a school system must be an Alabama LEA submitting on behalf of a public middle school with Grades 6-8.

The application contains all regulatory requirements and a timeline of related expectations. The deadline to submit grant applications is Friday, September 12, 2025, at 11:59 p.m. Follow the instructions on the ALSDE <u>Grant Portal</u> to apply. Virtual technical assistance will be available on Thursday, July 31, 2025, at 10 a.m. and Monday, August 18, 2025, at 1 p.m. You may register by clicking here.

If you have any questions, please contact Mrs. Amanda C. Dykes, Education Specialist, at 334-694-4761 or via email at amanda.dykes@alsde.edu.

EGM:ACD:MM

cc: City and County Career and Technical Education Administrators

City and County Chief School Financial Officers

Curriculum and Instruction Coordinators

LEA Technology Coordinators

Mrs. Angela Martin Mr. Arthur Watts, Jr. Dr. Melissa Shields Mr. Dodd Hawthorne Ms. Dawn Morrison Mrs. Lynn Shows

Mrs. Nancy Smith Mr. Brady Vaughn

FY25-2059