

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D.
State Superintendent of Education

Alabama State Board

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeiglei District I

Tracie West District II

Kelly Mooney

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V Vice President

> Marie Manning District VI President Pro Tem

Allen Long, M.D.

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer July 1, 2025

<u>MEMORANDUM</u>

TO: City and County Superintendents of Education

FROM: Eric G. Mackey

State Superintendent of Education

RE: Career and Technical Education Facilities Grant

Pursuant to Act 2025-269, and funded through the Education Trust Fund Advancement and Technology Fund, the Alabama State Department of Education is pleased to announce a \$100 million grant opportunity to support the development of regional career and technical education (CTE) centers across the state.

This funding will provide matching grants for capital outlay and equipment expenses. Proposals must be submitted as a collaboration of at least two local education agencies (LEAs). A sliding scale for matching requirements will be applied based on the financial capacity of participating LEAs, with no required match exceeding 50% of the total project cost.

The application contains all regulatory requirements and a timeline of key expectations. The deadline to submit grant applications is Thursday, July 31, 2025, at 11:59 p.m. Follow the instructions on the ALSDE <u>Grant Portal</u> to apply. A virtual technical assistance session will be held on Wednesday, July 9, 2025, at 10 a.m. Please register here to receive the meeting link and access details.

If you have any questions, contact Mr. Dodd Hawthorne, Assistant State Superintendent, by telephone at 334-694-4907 or by email at dodd.hawthorne@alsde.edu.

EGM/DH/DM

Attachment

cc: City and County Career and Technical Education Administrators

City and County Chief School Financial Officers

Mrs. Angela Martin

Mr. Chuck Marcum

Mr. Arthur Watts, Jr.

Mr. Dodd Hawthorne

Ms. Dawn Morrison

Mrs. Lynn Shows

Mrs. Nancy Smith

FY25-2060