

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D.
State Superintendent of Education

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigler District I

Tracie West District II

Kelly Mooney

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D.
District V

Marie Manning District VI President Pro Tem

Allen Long, M.D. District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 15, 2025

Contact: Communication (334) 694-4688 comm@alsde.edu

ALABAMA DECA MEMBERS EARN RECOGNITION AT 2025 INTERNATIONAL CAREER DEVELOPMENT CONFERENCE

With a total of 450 attendees representing more than 40 local chapters, **Alabama DECA** members earned some of America's highest honors at the annual DECA International Career Development Conference (ICDC), which was recently held in Orlando, Florida.

These Alabama students and schools received top international recognition this year:

Student Name	Event/Scholarship	Place/Honor/Sponsorship
Dallas Lewis, Spain Park High	Integrated Marketing Campaign- Product	1 st Place overall, Top Exam,
School		Top Presentation
Stella Weigel, Auburn High	Automotive Services Marketing	Top Role Play 1
School		
Madison Walz, Auburn High	Integrated Marketing Campaign, Event	Top Exam
School		
Lauren Pate, Hoover High	Retail Merchandising Series	Top Role Play 1
School		
Andrew Gottlieb, Chelsea High	Publix Scholarship	\$1,000
School		
William Russell, Spain Park	Harry A. Applegate – Sonya Dismuke	\$1,000
High School	Memorial Scholarship	

The following Alabama DECA members earned the prestigious Emerging Leader Award:

- <u>Demopolis High School</u>: Caroline Mullins, Emery Wideman, Mason Goodwin, Sarah Helms, Trynnady Aldridge
- Hoover High School: Ahaana Rajpari, Angel, Nguyen, Bailey Cox, Briana Harvey, Briggs
 Marett, Emily Kullman, Gavin Hopkins, Grayson Collins, Jackson Lee, Jayla Hinton,
 Katherine Cox, Lane Blythe, Lauren Pate, Madeline Splawn, Maggie Pelton, Margo "Milo"
 Bailey, Nick Musso, Ohm Patel, Preston Nafz, Simmy Patel, Tony McGhee, Tristyn Hood,
 Uzma Khan, Ziyaan Lakhani
- Leeds High School: Abram Davis
- Randolph-Roanoke Career Technical Center: Jayda Autrey
- Spain Park High School: Avinash Nair, Breanna Hoang, Emma Kleckley, Hannah Hickman, Harris Gregory, Isaac Battles, Jack Graham, Josh Tulloss, Raina Valliani, William Brown, Stephanie Maldonado, William Russell
- Wetumpka High School: Price Goggans

ALABAMA DECA AT 2025 INTERNATIONAL CAREER DEVELOPMENT CONFERENCE

-more-

During the school year, nearly 195,000 of DECA's high school student members from across the country take part in the organization's <u>competitive events program</u>, allowing them to compete for local, regional and state titles.

The competitions are designed to simulate real-life business scenarios and test students' academic understanding and skills development.

The top state winners put their talents to the test during the program's final round of international competition. The DECA International Career Development Conference is the pinnacle of the competition.

More than \$371,000 in scholarships and awards were presented to students and teachers for their achievements this year.

In addition to career-based competition, Alabama DECA members engaged in leadership academies and networking opportunities with over 80 internationally recognized businesses and universities. This year's ICDC event was officially held on April 26-29, 2025.

