MINUTES OF THE ALABAMA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION THE STATE OF ALABAMA AUGUST 13, 2020 MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA

The Alabama State Board of Education met for its Annual meeting of Elementary/Secondary Education matters on Thursday, August 13, 2020, at 10 a.m., in Room P103 of the Gordon Persons Building, Montgomery, Alabama. The meeting was called to order by the President of the Board in accordance with *Alabama Code* (1975), §16-3-7, as amended.

PRESIDING: GOVERNOR KAY IVEY, PRESIDENT

The invocation was done by Dr. Daniel Boyd, Deputy State Superintendent for Instruction, Alabama State Department of Education, and the Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag was done in unison.

The following members were present:

Present

Mrs. Stephanie Bell via electronic means
Governor Kay Ivey in person
Dr. Cynthia McCarty in person
Mr. Jeff Newman via electronic means
Dr. Wayne Reynolds via electronic means
Dr. Yvette Richardson via electronic means
Dr. Tommie Stewart via electronic means
Mrs. Tracie West in person
Mrs. Jackie Zeigler in person

Dr. Eric G. Mackey, State Superintendent of Education, was also present.

On motion by Dr. Cynthia McCarty and seconded by Mrs. Tracie West, the Board voted unanimously to approve the following.

ENTERTAIN A MOTION TO TEMPORARILY SUSPEND CERTAIN PROVISIONS OF ALABAMA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 290-010-010.04, WHICH ARE IN CONFLICT AND SUPERSEDED BY THE GOVERNOR'S PROCLAMATION RELATED TO THE OPEN MEETINGS ACT ISSUED ON MARCH 18, 2020; NAMELY, THE REQUIREMENT TO VOTE BY RAISED HAND AND THOSE PROVISIONS RELATED TO THE ESTABLISHMENT OF A QUORUM BY PHYSICAL PRESENCE AND MEETING BY ELECTRONIC MEANS

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

On motion by Mrs. Tracie West and seconded by Dr. Cynthia McCarty, the Board voted unanimously to approve the agenda.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES FOR THE JULY 14, 2020, MEETING

On motion by Dr. Yvette Richardson and seconded by Dr. Tommie Stewart, the Board voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the meeting of July 14, 2020.

NEW BUSINESS

On motion by Mrs. Tracie West and seconded by Dr. Yvette Richardson, the Board voted unanimously to adopt the following.

Adopt Amended *Alabama Administrative Code*, Chapters 290-3-2 and 290-3-3, as Permanent Chapters

On motion by Dr. Cynthia McCarty and seconded by Mrs. Tracie West, the Board voted unanimously to adopt the following.

Announce Intent to Amend *Alabama Administrative Code*, Rule 290-3-3-.05, Pertaining to Early Childhood Education (Grades P-3) as an Emergency/Permanent Rule

Announce Intent to Amend *Alabama Administrative Code,* Rule 290-3-3-.06, Pertaining to Elementary Education as an Emergency/Permanent Rule

Announce Intent to Amend *Alabama Administrative Code*, Rule 290-3-3-.34, Pertaining to Special Education as an Emergency/Permanent Rule

Announce Intent to Amend *Alabama Administrative Code*, Rule 290-3-3-.44, Pertaining to Alternative Class A Programs for Teaching Fields as an Emergency/Permanent Rule

ALABAMA PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL COMMISSION NOMINEES

On motion by Dr. Cynthia McCarty and seconded by Mrs. Tracie West, the Board voted unanimously to appoint Dr. David Marshall, Assistant Clinical Professor in Educational Research, Methodology, and Assessment, Auburn University, Auburn, Alabama, and Mr. Steve Siple, Senior Vice President – Commercial Credit Portfolio Management, Birmingham, Alabama, to serve on the Charter School Commission.

EXECUTIVE (INCLUDES LEGAL AND PUBLIC INFORMATION)

Dr. Eric G. Mackey stated that there was no report necessary for the month of August.

STATE SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

Dr. Mackey enlightened the Governor and Board members with the four finalists for the 2020-2021 Alabama Teacher of the Year (TOY). The four finalists were Mr. David Dai, Alma Bryant High School, Mobile County School System; Dr. Andrew Jackson, Eden Elementary School, Pell City School System; Ms. Kathryn Knorr, Ogletree Elementary School, Auburn City School System; and Mr. Michael Sinnott, Vestavia Hills High School, Vestavia Hills City School System. Due to COVID-19 and social distancing, the normal TOY celebration could not take place. The Board viewed a video from the four TOY finalists. Dr. Mackey thanked Dr. Michael Sibley, his staff, Ann Starks, and the TOY committee members for coordinating the program. Dr. Mackey stated that the committee had a wonderful group of 16 candidates to select from. The list was narrowed to the finalist and alternate Alabama TOY. Dr. Mackey made a special announcement of the state's most outstanding educator, Dr. Andrew Fletcher Jackson, Eden Elementary School, Pell City School System, as the 2020-2021 Alabama Teacher of the Year. Alabama's Alternate 2020-2021 Teacher of the Year is Mr. David Dai, Alma Bryant High School, Mobile County School System. Dr. Mackey stated that it was exciting to recognize these wonderful educators.

Dr. Mackey informed the Governor and Board members that Alabama has about one-half dozen school systems in session. Some systems are attending in person and some are attending remotely. Dr. Mackey stated that the department is collecting school systems' back-to-school plans, start dates, and calendars to place on the department's website.

Dr. Mackey recognized the Career and Technical Education Section, Jobs for Alabama's Graduates (JAG). Dr. Mackey allowed Mr. Craig Collins, Education Administrator, to elaborate on the JAG 5 of 5 award received for obtaining the National Jobs of America's Graduates performance goals. Alabama JAG exceeded the five performance goals of 100% graduation rate, total civilian jobs in military service placement, total positive outcome, total full-time jobs, and total full-time placement rate. There were 249 seniors in the class of 2019. A total of 152 of the graduating class were placed in a full-time job, two- or four-year institution, and/or military service.

There being no other business before the Board, on motion by Dr. Cynthia McCarty and seconded by Mrs. Tracie West, Board members voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 10:31 a.m. The next Alabama State Board of Education Meeting for Elementary and Secondary Education will be held on Thursday, September 10, 2020, at 10 a.m. in the auditorium of the Gordon Persons Building followed by the Work Session.

Vice President	
Secretary and Executive Officer	