

### STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

Alabama State Board of Education February 12, 2020

Governor Kay Ivey President

TO:

RE:

City and County Superintendents of Education

Jackie Zeigler District I President Pro Tem

Eric G. Mackey

FROM: State Superintendent of Education

MEMORANDUM

Tracie West District II

Stephanie Bell District III

2020 National History Teacher of the Year Award (Grades K-12)

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D.

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History has established an annual award to honor a History Teacher of the Year for each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense, and United States Territories. The winner will receive a \$1,000 honorarium and will be a candidate for the National History Teacher of the Year Award to be selected next fall. The national winner will receive a \$10,000 award. The school of the state winner will also receive an archive of history books and materials named in honor

Tommie T. Stewart, Ph.D. District V

of the winning teacher.

Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D. District VI

Attached is a copy of the eligibility and nomination requirements. All nominations must be submitted on the Gilder Lehrman website at <a href="www.gilderlehrman.org/nhtoy">www.gilderlehrman.org/nhtoy</a>. The nomination deadline is March 31, 2020. Please distribute this information to all principals of schools containing Grades K-12.

Jeff Newman District VII Vice President

If you should need additional information, please contact Dr. Carolyn A. Jones by telephone at (334) 694-4768 or via email at cajones@alsde.edu.

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII

EGM:CAJ:DSS

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer

Attachments

FY20-2040

#### NOMINATIONS AND ELIGIBILITY

## Eligibility

- Any full-time educator of Grades K-12 who teaches American History (including state and local history). American History may be taught as an individual subject or through social studies, reading, language arts, and other subjects.
- Nominees must be planning to teach for at least one year following the award year.
- Past state and national winners are not eligible.
- Self-nominations are not accepted.
- Teachers nominated by state coordinators are not eligible.

#### Nominations

- Nominations must be submitted on the Gilder Lehrman website at gilderlehrman.org/nhtoy. This form is open year round to collect nominations for any eligible K-12 teacher. A teacher can be nominated at any point during the year but must be nominated by March 31, 2020, to be considered for the current year's award.
- Nominators are asked to provide contact information for themselves and information about the nominee, including a short statement about why the nominee should be honored. Nominations can be made by any individual who is familiar with the teacher's work, including students, parents of students, colleagues, etc.
- Nominated teachers receive an email notification with instructions on how to submit all materials to be considered for the State History Teacher of the Year.



# NATIONAL HISTORY TEACHER OF THE YEAR

# Teachers, Administrators, Parents, and Students: We need your help to find outstanding K-12 history teachers!

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is seeking nominations for the 2020 National History Teacher of the Year.

Each year we recognize first-rate K–12 teachers who find creative ways to bring history to life in their classrooms. Winners are selected from each state and US territory, and become finalists for the national award.

State History Teacher of the Year winners receive:

- \$1,000
- Recognition at a ceremony in their state
- Free classroom materials

The national winner receives \$10,000 and is honored at a ceremony in New York City.

The deadline for 2020 nominations is March 31, 2020.

Learn more and nominate a teacher at gilderlehrman.org/nhtoy.

Visit **gilderlehrman.org/nominate**to nominate a teacher for the
National History Teacher of the Year Award

