

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D.
State Superintendent of Education

MEDIA ADVISORY-FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Communication (334) 694-4686

MEDIA ADVISORY

PUBLIC MEETING ANNOUNCED FOR SPECIAL EDUCATION

Montgomery, AL - The Special Education Advisory Panel (SEAP) and the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) encourage the public to attend the upcoming meeting and offer input regarding special education services. Participation by concerned citizens at this meeting provides an opportunity to identify issues and unmet needs related to educational services for children with disabilities throughout the state.

WHEN: Wednesday, April 21, 2021, 9 AM – Noon - Comments from the public will be read aloud during the allotted time on the agenda.

WHERE: Virtual Meeting for the SEAP Panel Members.

https://alsde.webex.com/alsde/j.php?MTID=m90454b5201a38f740ac8d03e8d3b50ea

Enter the session password: **042121**

To join the session by phone, Call-in toll number (US/Canada): 1-650-479-3208

Access code: 145 047 7808

TOPIC: The SEAP will review current issues pertaining to services for students with disabilities.

Public comments will be read during the scheduled time period on the agenda. If you wish to submit public comments, they must be factual and objective and not mention a student, school, or individual by name or other confidential information. Public written comments will be received by Dr. Melissa Card either by mail at Alabama State Department of Education, Special Education Services Section, Post Office Box 302101, Montgomery, Alabama 36130-2101, or by email at mcard@alsde.edu.

If interpreter services for non-English speaking and/or individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing are needed, please contact Dr. Card at mcard@alsde.edu or 334-694-4782. Requests should be made as soon as possible but at least 5 days prior to the scheduled meeting.

Save-the-Date(s) for future SEAP meetings July 28, 2021 and October 13, 2021

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigler District I Vice President

Tracie West District II

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV President Pro Tem

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V

Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D. District VI

> Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer