RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE 2020-2021 DISTRICT TEACHERS OF THE YEAR

WHEREAS, the Alabama State Board of Education seeks to recognize and encourage excellence in education, both in teaching and learning, and celebrates the commitment of 16 educators who demonstrate each day they enter the classrooms, engage students, and communicate with families that together make learning possible; and

WHEREAS, the Alabama Teacher of the Year Program is a means of identifying and rewarding some of the state's outstanding teachers who continue to hold true to their core values and belief that all students can learn and will learn; and

WHEREAS, well-trained, dedicated, caring, enthusiastic, and innovative teachers are among the ingredients essential to achieving excellence in preparing Alabama's children and youth to become capable adults; and

WHEREAS, the following honorees in the 2020-2021 Alabama Teacher of the Year Program exhibit these qualities and more:

District I Elementary Teacher of the Year – Michelle Wade Saraland Elementary School, Saraland City School System

District I Secondary Teacher of the Year – David Dai Alma Bryant High School, Mobile County School System

District II Elementary Teacher of the Year – Kathryn Knorr Ogletree Elementary School, Auburn City School System

District II Secondary Teacher of the Year – Jessica Bowlin Auburn High School, Auburn City School System

District III Elementary Teacher of the Year – Meredith Mitchell Redland Elementary School, Elmore County School System

District III Secondary Teacher of the Year – Michael Sinnott Vestavia Hills High School, Vestavia Hills City School System

District IV Elementary Teacher of the Year – Paul D. Kelsey Pleasant Grove Elementary School, Jefferson County School System

District IV Secondary Teacher of the Year – Rebecca Blumenfeld George Washington Carver High School, Birmingham City School System

District V Elementary Teacher of the Year – Sontessia Youngblood Banks Middle School, Pike County School System

District V Secondary Teacher of the Year – Hannah Bradford Pike Road High School, Pike Road City School System

District VI Elementary Teacher of the Year – Andrew F. Jackson Eden Elementary School, Pell City School System District VI Secondary Teacher of the Year – Niki L. Bowling Arab High School, Arab City School System

District VII Elementary Teacher of the Year – Chelsea Byrd Maddox Intermediate School, Jasper City School System

District VII Secondary Teacher of the Year – Alana White Pinson Valley High School, Birmingham City School System

District VIII Elementary Teacher of the Year – Tonia Wilburn Tanner Elementary School, Limestone County School System

District VIII Secondary Teacher of the Year – Angela M. Pettus Athens High School, Athens City School System

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Alabama State Board of Education commends these teachers and expresses its gratitude to each of them for the commitment, sacrifice, dedication, and service to the children and youth of Alabama that have earned them the distinction of District Teachers of the Year:

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That we recognize them on this day for making our schools beacons of hope and opportunity.

Done this 13th day of August 2020