RESOLUTION TO APPOINT A REPLACEMENT MEMBER TO THE 2020-2021 MATHEMATICS STATE TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, the *Code of Alabama* 1975, §16-36-60, provides for the appointment of a State Textbook Committee; and

WHEREAS, said law provides that four elementary teachers and four high school teachers are to be selected to serve on the State Textbook Committee and are to come from each of the seven congressional districts of Alabama and one statewide; and

WHEREAS, said law provides that four people who shall be teachers, principals, supervisors, or superintendents are to be selected from the state-at-large; and

WHEREAS, said law provides that two members of said State Textbook Committee are to be selected from the institutions of higher learning; and

WHEREAS, said law provides that the fourteen people on the attached list are to be nominated to the Alabama State Board of Education by the State Superintendent of Education; and

WHEREAS, the State Superintendent of Education recommends approval:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the people on the attached list are hereby appointed to the 2020-2021 State Mathematics Textbook Committee for a term beginning June 1, 2020, and ending on May 31, 2021:

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this Board recognizes that said law provides that the Governor of Alabama is to appoint nine people not in the field of education to serve on this State Textbook Committee and welcomes them to full membership:

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That State Superintendent of Education Eric G. Mackey is hereby authorized to fill any vacancy that may occur on this State Textbook Committee until the next meeting of this Alabama State Board of Education after such vacancy occurs and same to be added as ad interim business:

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That Mr. Robert Dolbare of the Dallas County School System replaces Ms. Felicia-King Thomas of the Dallas County School System on the Mathematics State Textbook Committee.

2020-2021 STATE TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE MATHEMATICS, GRADES K-12

TERM: JUNE 1, 2020 - MAY 31, 2021

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT

I	Leanne Bullard	Secondary	Monroe County
II	Lashuana Taylor	El <mark>eme</mark> ntary	Montgomery County
III	Leigh Twigg	Elementary	Calhoun County
IV /	Anna Boone	Elementary	Boaz City
V	Bonnie Jacquis	Secondary	Limestone County
VI	Josh Argo	Secondary	Leeds City
VII	Phala Mims	Secondary	Marengo County
		•	

STATE-WIDE Marissa Benjamin Elementary Hoover City

STATE-AT-LARGE

A.	Sandra Dempsey	Teacher	Gulf Shores City
B.	Robert Dolbare	Teacher	Dallas County
C.	Bianc <mark>a</mark> Gaither	Teacher	Jefferson County
D.	Jennifer Johnson	Administrator	Houston County

INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER LEARNING

A.	H <mark>eather G. Haskell</mark>	Lecturer	Auburn University
B.	Dr. Terri Johnson	Interim Dean	University of Alabama
			Huntsville

Done this 14th day of July 2020