## RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE 2021-2022 DISTRICT TEACHERS OF THE YEAR

WHEREAS, the Alabama State Board of Education seeks to recognize and encourage excellence in education, both in teaching and learning, and celebrates the commitment of educators who demonstrate each day they enter the classrooms, engage students, and communicate with families who together make learning possible; and

WHEREAS, the Alabama Teacher of the Year Program is a means of identifying and rewarding some of the state's outstanding teachers who continue to hold true to their core values and belief that all students can learn and will learn; and

WHEREAS, well-trained, dedicated, caring, enthusiastic, and innovative teachers are among the ingredients essential to achieving excellence in preparing Alabama's children and youth to become capable adults; and

WHEREAS, the following honorees in the 2021-2022 Alabama Teacher of the Year Program exhibit these qualities and more:

District I Elementary Teacher of the Year – Julia M. Neidhardt Hutchens Elementary School, Mobile County School System

District I Secondary Teacher of the Year – Krista Marcum Gulf Shores High School, Gulf Shores City School System

District II Elementary Teacher of the Year – Sherlita Gilchrist Meadowlane Elementary School, Phenix City School System

District II Secondary Teacher of the Year – Kimberly C. Johnson Auburn Junior High School, Auburn City School System

District III Elementary Teacher of the Year – Alli C. Phelps
Shades Cahaba Elementary School, Homewood City School System

District III Secondary Teacher of the Year – Pamela M. McClendon Riverchase Career Connection Center, Hoover City School System

District IV Elementary Teacher of the Year – Sabrina Wright Sun Valley Elementary School, Birmingham City School System

District IV Secondary Teacher of the Year – Leah Hughes Hillcrest High School, Tuscaloosa County School System

District V Elementary Teacher of the Year – Catherine J. Grissett Banks School, Pike County School System

District V Secondary Teacher of the Year – Dr. Lilian U. Zekeri Tuskegee Institute Middle School, Macon County School System

District VI Elementary Teacher of the Year – Megan Kreitlein Eden Elementary School, Pell City School System

District VI Secondary Teacher of the Year – Mashell K. Wehn Arab High School, Arab City School System

District VII Elementary Teacher of the Year – Rachel Graves Weeden Elementary School, Florence City School System

District VII Elementary Teacher of the Year – Candilyn R. Holt Elkmont Elementary School, Limestone County School System

District VII Secondary Teacher of the Year — Jeff Schrupp Hewitt Trussville High School, Trussville City School System

District VIII Elementary Teacher of the Year – Valerie Johnson G. W. Floyd Elementary School, Gadsden City School System

District VIII Secondary Teacher of the Year – Kierstan Bell Hampton Cove Middle School, Huntsville City School System

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Alabama State Board of Education commends these teachers and expresses its gratitude to each of them for the commitment, sacrifice, dedication, and service to the children and youth of Alabama that have earned them the distinction of District Teachers of the Year.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That we recognize them on this day for making our schools beacons of hope and opportunity.

Done this 12th day of August 2021