

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

REVISED

February 16, 2022

<u>M E M O R A N D U M</u>

- **TO:** City and County Superintendents of Education
- **FROM:** Eric G. Mackey EAM State Superintendent of Education
- **RE:** Fiscal Year (FY) 2022 Language Essentials for Teachers of Reading and Spelling (LETRS) Stipend for Mastery Funding

The initial round of LETRS Stipend for Mastery candidate verification is complete. Local education agency (LEA) allocations will be reimbursed to each applicable LEA that has eligible candidates. The LEA will receive \$1,200 from the Alabama State Department of Education. Verified candidates will receive a \$1,000 stipend and the extra \$200 will cover employer benefit costs associated with the stipend. This stipend is being provided based on the state's *Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief II* (ESSER II) federal appropriation for this current FY 2022. These reimbursable funds are sent to the district after a request is made from the district. Use the reference **LEA code 4303-ESSER II, LETRS. Any remaining portion of the allocation after the stipend and benefit expenses are paid should be used for high-quality instructional materials for that teacher's classroom. Total funding amounts are attached and were provided based on candidate verification at the state level outlined in the <u>FY22-2011 Memorandum</u> posted on November 22, 2021. Each chief school financial officer will receive a list of verified candidates. Click here to view funding amounts.**

If you have any questions, please contact Ms. Libby Frankel, ARI Education Specialist, by email at <u>libby.frankel@alsde.edu</u> or by telephone at 334-694-4639.

EGM/BS/KJ

CC:

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII President Pro Tem

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer LEA Chief School Financial Officers Mrs. Angela Martin Dr. Elisabeth Davis Mrs. Bonnie Short Ms. Libby Frankel

FY22-2027

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigler District I

Tracie West District II

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV Vice President

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V

Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D. District VI

> Belinda McRae District VII