

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



February 2, 2022

MEMORANDUM

TO: City and County Superintendents of Education

FROM: Eric G. Mackey Edward State Superintendent of Education

SUBJECT: Assistance for Teachers Seeking National Board for Professional

Teaching Standards (NBPTS) Certification in 2022

The Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE), in cooperation with the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS), will assist teachers who are interested in applying for National Board Certification as first-time candidates. The state has been awarded funds to pay the \$1,900 assessment fee required by the NBPTS for candidates meeting the following conditions:

1. Have three (3) years of teaching experience and a baccalaureate or higher degree.

2. Teach full-time in a public K-12 school.

3. Commit to teach three (3) years in an Alabama K-12 school.

 Commit to completing the National Board Certified Teacher (NBCT) Portfolio (all four [4] components).

Be responsible for paying the registration fee (\$75 each year of candidacy).

6. Have an annual household income that does not exceed three times the most recently available median household income or \$120,000.

The application for the Alabama NBCT Scholarship can be downloaded by clicking the following link:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/18GcrTxwi6xAYwYJUL-BZ7w as1QltEEYqgC6wQ8nuuA/edit?usp=sharing.

In addition, each Regional Inservice Center has the link on their website. The deadline for submitting an application is March 31, 2022.

If you have any questions regarding this memorandum, please contact Dr. Boyd Rogan by email at boydrogran21@gmail.com.

EGM:AM:PAF

cc: Dr. Boyd Rogan Mrs. Angela Martin

Dr. Brandon T. Payne

FY22-2025

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey

Jackie Zeigler District I

Tracie West

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV Vice President

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V

Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D. District VI

> Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII President Pro Tem

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer