

# STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D.
State Superintendent of Education

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackle Zeigler District i

Tracle West District II

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV Vice President

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V

Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D. District VI

Belinda McRae

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII President Pro Tem

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 13, 2022

**CONTACT**: Communications 334-694-4686

comm@alsde.edu

# "SWEET 16" FINALISTS FOR ALABAMA TEACHER OF THE YEAR ANNOUNCED TODAY

"Honoring Alabama's Top Educators' Dedication to the Teaching Profession"

**Montgomery, Ala.** – These 16 outstanding educators, selected as finalists for the Alabama 2022- 2023 Teacher of the Year, personify teaching excellence.

Each excels in the classroom and inspires students through mentorship. They utilize innovative classroom instruction to motivate classroom achievement.

This year's 16 state finalists have emerged from a highly professional group of more than 150 top educators who submitted their official applications for this state honor. The Alabama Teacher of the Year Program is *one of our state's oldest and most esteemed awards programs*.

# Alabama State Department of Education - 2022-2023 District Teachers of the Year

#### Kelly S. Parker

Mobile County School System – Tanner Williams Elementary School District I Elementary Teacher of the Year

# **Beverly S. Sport**

Crenshaw County School System – Luverne High School District I Secondary Teacher of the Year

# Meagan King Johnson

Ozark City School System – Lisenby Primary School District II Elementary Teacher of the Year

#### Laura Traylor

Ozark City School System – Carroll High School Career Center District II Secondary Teacher of the Year

#### **Geri Evans**

Hoover City School System – Bluff Park Elementary School District III Elementary Teacher of the Year

### R. Paul McEwan

Hoover City School System – Hoover High School District III Secondary Teacher of the Year

-more-

# **Reggie White**

Birmingham City Schools – Booker T. Washington K-8 School District IV Elementary Teacher of the Year

# Monquelle D. Shamburger

Birmingham City Schools – A. H. Parker High School District IV Secondary Teacher of the Year

#### Denisha B. Streeter

Selma City Schools – Saints Virtual Academy District V Elementary Teacher of the Year

#### William Edmonds

Mobile County Schools – Barton Academy for Advanced World Studies
District V Secondary Teacher of the Year

# April M. Dean

Cullman City Schools – East Elementary School District VI Elementary Teacher of the Year

# Michele Downey

Piedmont City Schools – Piedmont High School District VI Secondary Teacher of the Year

# Shayna F. Swann

Trussville City Schools – Paine Elementary School District VII Elementary Teacher of the Year

#### Andrew Franck

Sheffield City Schools – Sheffield Junior High School District VII Secondary Teacher of the Year

#### Doetiletia F. Sims

Huntsville City Schools – Highlands Elementary School District VIII Elementary Teacher of the Year

#### Kristen F. Steele

Madison City Schools – James Clemens High School District VIII Secondary Teacher of the Year

Alabama's Teacher of the Year spends the majority of the school year serving as a full-time ambassador for education and the teaching profession, as well as presenting workshops to various groups.

Alabama's representative is also a candidate for National Teacher of the Year. *This pool of outstanding educators will soon be narrowed down to the final Top Four.* 

The 2022-2023 Alabama Teacher of the Year will be announced by the Alabama State Board of Education and Alabama State Department of Education in May.

Reflecting on her experiences as the most recent finalist, and Alabama's current Teacher of the Year, Kimberly A. Johnson, said, "Congratulations to these highly skilled educators who have been selected. Each of these *Alabama Teacher of the Year 16 Finalist*s truly exemplify excellence and demonstrate outstanding classroom leadership. They are elevating our profession to new levels of success."