RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE 2022-2023 DISTRICT TEACHERS OF THE YEAR

WHEREAS, the Alabama State Board of Education seeks to recognize and encourage excellence in education, both in teaching and learning, and celebrates the commitment of educators who demonstrate each day they enter the classrooms, engage students, and communicate with families who together make learning possible; and

WHEREAS, the Alabama Teacher of the Year Program is a means of identifying and rewarding some of the state's outstanding teachers who continue to hold true to their core values and belief that all students can learn and will learn; and

WHEREAS, well-trained, dedicated, caring, enthusiastic, and innovative teachers are among the ingredients essential to achieving excellence in preparing Alabama's children and youth to become capable adults; and

WHEREAS, the 2022-2023 honorees listed below exhibit these qualities and more:

- Kelly S. Parker, Tanner Williams Elementary School, Mobile County School System, State School Board District One Elementary Teacher of the Year
- Beverly S. Sport, Luverne High School, Crenshaw County School System, State School Board District One Secondary Teacher of the Year
- Meagan King Johnson, Joseph W. Lisenby Primary School, Ozark City School System, State School Board District Two Elementary Teacher of the Year

Laura Traylor, Carroll High School, Ozark City School System, State School Board District Two Secondary Teacher of the Year

Geri Evans, Bluff Park Elementary School, Hoover City School System State School Board District Three Elementary Teacher of the Year

R. Paul McEwan, Hoover High School, Hoover City School System, State School Board District Three Secondary Teacher of the Year

Denisha Streeter, Saints Virtual Academy, Selma City School System, State School Board District Five Elementary Teacher of the Year

Monquelle D. Shamburger, A. H. Parker High School, Birmingham City School System, State School Board District Four Secondary Teacher of the Year

- April M. Dean, East Elementary School, Cullman City School System, State School Board District Six Elementary Teacher of the Year
- Michele Downey, Piedmont High School, Piedmont City School System, State School Board District Six Secondary Teacher of the Year
- Shayna F. Swann, Paine Elementary School, Trussville City School System, State School Board District Seven Elementary Teacher of the Year
- Andrew Franck, Sheffield Junior High School, Sheffield City School System State School Board District Seven Secondary Teacher of the Year
- Doetiletia F. Sims, Highlands Elementary School, Huntsville City School System, State School Board District Eight Elementary Teacher of the Year
- Kristen F. Steele, James Clemens High School, Madison City School System, State School Board District Eight Secondary Teacher of the Year

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Alabama State Board of Education commends the teachers and expresses its gratitude to each of them for the commitment, sacrifice, dedication, and service to the children and youth of Alabama that have earned them the distinction of District Teachers of the Year; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That we recognize them on this day for making our schools beacons of hope and opportunity.

Done this 12th day of May 2022