

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigier District i

Tracle West District II

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District N Vice President

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V

Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D. District VI

> Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII President Pro Tem

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE** July 12, 2022 CONTACT: Communications 334-694-4686 comm@alsde.edu

STATE BOARD MEMBER WAYNE REYNOLDS ELECTED VICE-PRESIDENT OF THE ALABAMA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Tracie West, Representative for District 2, to Serve as President Pro Tem

Montgomery, AL – During the monthly Alabama State Board of Education (SBOE) meeting held Tuesday, July 212, 2022, State Board Representative for District 8, **Dr. Wayne Reynolds**, was elected **Vice President of the SBOE**. Reynolds holds a Doctorate in Education from



Auburn University and a Master's in Finance. He worked 12 years as a public school superintendent, has been a registered nurse since 2003, and has owned and operated his own business since 1996.

A disabled veteran, Reynolds served in Vietnam from 1968– 1969 with the 95th Evac and 22nd Surgical hospitals. Reynolds first served as national treasurer from 2001–2003 and now serves as president of Vietnam Veterans Assistance Fund's Alabama State Council. By virtue of her office, the honorable Gov. Kay Ivey serves as President of the Board.

Tracie West, Representative for Board District 2, will serve as **President Pro Tem**, who presides over the SBOE in the absence of the vice-president.



Mrs. West graduated from Auburn University College of Human Sciences and launched a career in business in 1997, owning and operating a successful small business in Auburn for the next 21 years. Mrs. West served over nine years as a member of the Auburn City Schools Board of Education, including the last two years as President of the Board.

###