RESOLUTION HONORING ALABAMA'S 2022 U.S. PRESIDENTIAL SCHOLARS

WHEREAS, the United States Department of Education and the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars has examined an extremely qualified list of candidates to be selected as the 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars; and

WHEREAS, after examining the best possible candidates across the country, the Commission on Presidential Scholars has selected students in each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and from families of U.S. citizens living abroad that exemplify exceptional talent in visual and performing arts, as well as ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields; and

WHEREAS, the scholars selected have all demonstrated leadership, scholarship, contribution to school and community, and outstanding accomplishments in the fields of arts, sciences, humanities, and other endeavors; and

WHEREAS, three Alabama students have received this honorable recognition that emphasizes the importance of achievement in secondary education and celebrates the success of these outstanding students; and

WHEREAS, Yewon Lee, James Clemens High School, Madison City School System, and James Shi, Alabama School of Fine Arts, Birmingham, Alabama, have both been selected as Alabama Scholars in the 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program; and Hailey Mullins, Brewbaker Technology Magnet High School, Montgomery County School System, has been selected as a Presidential Scholar in Career and Technical Education; and

WHEREAS, the Alabama State Board of Education believes these students epitomize student achievement, educational excellence, and preparation for life after high school, as their hard work, determination, and academic prowess brings positive attention to the state of Alabama:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Alabama State Board of Education does hereby extend congratulations to all Alabama Presidential Scholars for being the recipients of this distinguished honor from the United States Department of Education and the Commission on Presidential Scholars.

Done on this 12th day of July 2022