

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



August 31, 2022

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey

Jackie Zeigler District i

Tracle West District II President Pro Ten

> Stephanie Bei District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V

Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D.

Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII Vice President

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer

MEMORANDUM

TO: City and County Superintendents of Education

FROM: Eric G. Mackey

State Superintendent of Education

RE: English Learner (EL) Regional Support Structure

The Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) and the EL team are committed to providing instructional support and resources to assist local education agencies (LEAs) in meeting the progress in achieving English Language Proficiency (ELP) goals for English learners as outlined in the Alabama Consolidated State Plan. The EL team continues to work collaboratively with the Region 7 Comprehensive Center (R7CC) on the *Alabama Framework for English Learner Success* that includes strategies, capacity building, and coordination activities designed to promote and strengthen effective EL practices, policies, and procedures. One aspect of the *Alabama Framework for English Learner Success* will result in changes to the support provided to LEAs. EL state and regional specialists will provide targeted support based on multiple criteria, including progress made in achieving English language proficiency and LEA request. To request support, please complete the English Learners Support Request Form.

If you have questions regarding EL support, please contact Ms. Michele Lee by email at mlee@alsde.edu or Mrs. Katrina Todd by email at ktodd@alsde.edu or by telephone at 334-694-4768.

Thank you for your continued commitment to ensuring that we give "Every Child. Every Chance. Every Day."

EGM:SS:PK

cc: English Learner Coordinators
Curriculum Directors
School Principals
English Learner Regional Specialists

Mrs. Angela Martin

Dr. Elisabeth Davis Mr. Sean J. Stevens Ms. Michele Lee Mrs. Katrina Todd Mrs. Maria Franco

FY22-2092