

# STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigie District i

Tracle West District II President Pro Tem

> Stephanie Beil District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V

Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D. District VI

> Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII Vice President

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 14, 2022

CONTACT: Communications 334-694-4686 comm@alsde.edu

#### CAITLIN HALPERIN NAMED 2022 ALABAMA HISTORY TEACHER OF THE YEAR

**Montgomery, Ala.** – *Caitlin Halperin*, a top teacher at Auburn High School has been named the *2022 Alabama History Teacher of the Year*, an award presented annually by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, one of the nation's leading organizations dedicated to K-12 American history education.

Inaugurated in 2004, the History Teacher of the Year Award highlights the importance of



history education by honoring exceptional educators from elementary through high school. The award honors one teacher from each state, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools and US Territories.

"Knowledgeable and impassioned teachers bring our country's history to life for students, allowing them to understand engaging with history is about more than a series of facts," said James G. Basker, President of the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. "Teachers are the lifeblood of our students' education, and these are the best of the best."

In 2015, Caitlin Halperin received her bachelor's degree at Auburn University, and she finished her master's degree in Social Studies Education in 2016. She is a

James Madison Fellow for the state of Alabama. Halperin's deep love for history and the inventive ways she uses to communicate that history to her students lead to a classroom full of discussions, debates, investigations, and real-world dilemmas.

Alabama History Teacher of the Year Caitlin Halperin prepares her students to become civic-minded participants in America's twenty-first century democracy.

"Ms. Halperin is truly an outstanding teacher," said Dr. Shannon Pignato, principal of Auburn High School. "She employs a variety of instructional strategies to meet individual student needs and different learning styles. Through her classroom demonstrations, students gain a better understanding of abstract concepts. Students are given numerous opportunities to experience these concepts through hands-on and collaborative experiences. She uses collaborative learning and group and individual projects to foster student involvement, communication skills, and critical thinking. Ms. Halperin brings more to the classroom than just her knowledge of the subject matter."

-more-

## CAITLIN HALPERIN NAMED 2022 ALABAMA HISTORY TEACHER OF THE YEAR

"Her true value lies in her understanding of not only "what" to teach, but "how to teach," further states Principal Shannon Pignato. "Our students respect her because they experience the respect, she demonstrates for them. Ms. Halperin is the kind of person who is needed and valued in education today. She is a role model who inspires others to do their best."

In addition to a \$1,000 honorarium, Halperin will receive an archive of history books and Gilder Lehrman educational materials, recognition at a special ceremony in her honor, and becomes one of 53 finalists for the 2022 National History Teacher of the Year Award.

The winner of this year's National History Teacher of the Year Award will be announced in October 2022. Past presenters of the award include the Honorable Sandra Day O'Connor, *Good Morning America*'s Robin Roberts, First Lady Laura Bush, former US Secretary of Education Arne Duncan, and former New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg.

Nominations for the 2023 History Teacher of the Year awards are now open. Students, parents, colleagues, and supervisors may nominate K-12 teachers for the award by visiting <a href="https://www.gilderlehrman.org/nhtoy">https://www.gilderlehrman.org/nhtoy</a>. The deadline for 2023 nominations is April 30, 2023.

# About the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History

This organization was founded in 1994 by Richard Gilder and is a leading nonprofit organization dedicated to K–12 history education. The White House and the National Endowment for the Humanities have recognized the organization's programs.

###