RESOLUTION IN RECOGNITION OF ALABAMA 2022 INAUGURAL PURPLE STAR SCHOOLS

WHEREAS, today over one million Americans are bravely serving in the United States Armed Services. More than 300,000 Alabamians served their nation at home and abroad; and

WHEREAS, over 40,000 children in the State of Alabama are members of military families; and

WHEREAS, students who have parents in the military may experience unique challenges as a result of their family's military service including attending multiple schools; and

WHEREAS, frequent moves, family separations through deployments, and reintegration which can cause academic difficulties for youth; and

WHEREAS, the Alabama Inaugural Purple Star Class of 2022 is committed to meeting the unique needs of all students, especially those of military youth:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Alabama Inaugural Purple Star Class of 2022 offers our gratitude and support for all military personnel, their families, and veterans; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Alabama Inaugural Purple Star Class of 2022 will establish a trained point of contact at each building to support military families; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Alabama Inaugural Purple Star Class of 2022 for the 12 school districts and 53 schools listed below will make every effort to connect military families with the resources they need.

Autauga County School System

Daniel Pratt Middle School, Prattville Junior High School, and Prattville High School

Dale County School System

South Dale Middle School

Enterprise City School System

Coppinville Junior High School, Dauphin Junior High School, Enterprise Early Education Center, Enterprise High School, Harrand Creek Elementary School, Hillcrest Elementary School, Holly Hill Elementary School, Pinedale Elementary School, and Rucker Boulevard Elementary School

Homewood City School System

Homewood Middle School and Homewood High School

Hoover City School System

Riverchase Elementary School

Madison City School System

Bob Jones High School, Columbia Elementary School, Discovery Middle School, Heritage Elementary School, Horizon Elementary School, James Clemens High School, Liberty Middle School, Madison Elementary School, Midtown Elementary School, Mill Creek Elementary School, and Rainbow Elementary School

Madison County School System

Buckhorn High School, Lynn Fanning Elementary School, Meridianville Middle School, Mt. Carmel Elementary School, Riverton Elementary School, and Walnut Grove Elementary School

Montgomery County School System

Wynton Blount Elementary School

Ozark City School System

Carroll High School and Da Smith Middle School

Phenix City School System

Central Freshman Academy, Central High School, Lakewood Elementary School, Lakewood Primary School, Meadowlane Elementary School, Phenix City Elementary School, Phenix City Intermediate School, Ridgecrest Elementary School, Sherwood Elementary School, South Girard School, and Westview Elementary School

Pike Road School System

Pike Road Elementary School, Pike Road Intermediate School, Pike Road Junior High School, and Pike Road High School

Russell Count School System

Russell County Middle School and Russell County High School