

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 19, 2022 CONTACT: Communications 334-694-4686 comm@alsde.edu

EMBARGOED FOR RELEASE UNTIL 1 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 19, 2022

U.S. Secretary of Education Announces Recipients of the 2022 Terrel H. Bell Awards for Outstanding School Leadership

Montgomery, Ala. – U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel A. Cardona today announced the recipients of the <u>Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership for 2022</u>. All nine school leaders from the 2022 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored during the National Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony Nov. 3 in Washington.

"As a former principal, I understand the vital role school leaders play in shaping school culture and welcoming learning environments, improving student achievement outcomes, and empowering teachers to meet the needs of their students," said U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona. "The nine school leaders receiving this year's Terrel Bell awards have raised the bar for building positive school climates, increasing achievement, and finding creative ways to nurture, engage, and support students, families, educators, and school staff. At a time when principals and other school leaders face many challenges, from addressing students' unmet mental health needs to accelerating their academic recovery from the pandemic, the Department of Education is proud to recognize the essential work they do each day."

Named for the second U.S. secretary of education, Terrel H. Bell, the Bell Award honors school leaders who are committed to education as a powerful and liberating force in people's lives. The award is part of the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program.

Principals are nominated by their school communities during the final stages of the National Blue Ribbon Schools application process.

The U.S. Department of Education, together with the National Association of Elementary School Principals, the Association for Middle Level Education, and the National Association of Secondary School Principals, present the Bell Awards to principals of National Blue Ribbon Schools for their outstanding work and the vital role they play in guiding their students and schools to excellence, frequently under challenging circumstances. The 2022 recipients are:

STATE-CITY	HONOREE	SCHOOL
AL – Piedmont	Brigett Stewart	Piedmont Elementary School
CA – Cerritos	Miguel Marco	Wittmann (Helen) Elementary School
FL - Fort Lauderdale	Denise Aloma	Saint Thomas Aquinas High School
IN - Munster	Linda Bevil	James B. Eads Elementary School
KS - Sedgwick	Julie Scott	R.L. Wright Elementary School
LA - Lafayette	Catherine Bricelj	Myrtle Place Elementary School

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackle Zeigler District i

Tracle West District II President Pro Tem

> Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V

Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D. District VI

> Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII Vice President

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer

2022 National Terrel H. Bell Awards for Outstanding School Leadership

MN - Rochester	James Sonju	Lincoln K-8 School
OK - Checotah	Ryan Ambrose	Checotah Intermediate Elementary School
VA - Fairfax	Mahri Aste	Mosaic Elementary School

Visit the <u>website</u> to learn more about the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program and the Terrel H. Bell Awards.

*Press Office Contact: (202) 401-1576 or press@ed.gov

###