RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE 2023-2024 DISTRICT TEACHERS OF THE YEAR

WHEREAS, the Alabama State Board of Education seeks to recognize and encourage excellence in education, both in teaching and learning; and

WHEREAS, the Alabama Teacher of the Year Program is a means of identifying and rewarding some of the state's outstanding teachers each year; and

WHEREAS, well-trained, dedicated, caring, enthusiastic, and innovative teachers are among the ingredients essential to achieving excellence in preparing Alabama's children and youth to become capable adults; and

WHEREAS, the honorees in the 2023-2024 Alabama Teacher of the Year Program exhibit these qualities and more:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Alabama State Board of Education commends the teachers and expresses its gratitude to each of them for their commitment, sacrifice, dedication, and service to the children and youth of Alabama that have earned them the distinction of District Teachers of the Year; and

Maegan Gayle, Hutchens Elementary School, Mobile County School System, State School Board District One Elementary Teacher of the Year
 Amanda Talantis, Gulf Shores High School, Gulf Shores City School System, State School Board District One Secondary Teacher of the Year
 Logan Faith Rasmusson, Sherwood Elementary School, Phenix City School System, State School Board District Two Elementary Teacher of the Year
 Ansley A. Godwin, Carroll High School, Ozark City School System, State School Board District Two Secondary Teacher of the Year
 Jeffrey L. Norris, Oak Mountain Middle School, Shelby County School System, State School Board District Three Elementary Teacher of the Year
 Kevin Pughsley, Berry Middle School, Hoover City School System, State School Board District Three Secondary Teacher of the Year
 Dr. Allatesha Cain, Charles F. Hard Elementary School, Bessemer City School System, State School Board District Four Elementary Teacher of the Year

Mychoal B. Woods, George Washington Carver High School, Birmingham City School System, State School Board District Four Secondary Teacher of the Year

George Clausell, II, George Washington Carver Elementary School, Macon County School System, State School Board District Five Elementary Teacher of the Year

Jessica Roberson, Selma High School, Selma City School System,
State School Board District Five Secondary Teacher of the Year

Lauren Murdoch Brasch, Coosa Valley Elementary School, Pell City School

System, State School Board District Six Elementary Teacher of the Year

Katie McGee, Cullman Middle School, Cullman City School System, State

School Board District Six Secondary Teacher of the Year

Kimberly Jared, Barkley Bridge Elementary School, Hartselle City School System, State School Board District Seven Elementary Teacher of the Year Jennifer Coleman, Hewitt-Trussville High School, Trussville City School System, State School Board District Seven Secondary Teacher of the Year Bonnie Howard, Madison Elementary School, Madison City School System, State School Board District Eight Elementary Teacher of the Year Nia Nicole Stivers, North Jackson High School, Jackson County School System, State School Board District Eight Secondary Teacher of the Year

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That we celebrate the accomplishments of these outstanding educators in the classroom and community.

Done this 11th day of May 2023