

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

July 26, 2023

MEMORANDUM

TO: City and County Superintendents of Education

FROM: Eric G. Mackey

State Superintendent of Education

SUBJECT: Mathematics- and Science-Eligible Computer Science Courses

Alabama Act #2019-389 requires the Alabama State Department of Education to identify approved secondary and postsecondary computer science courses that meet the definitions outlined for computer science course instruction and that may fulfill one mathematics or science high school graduation requirement. In accordance with this Act, beginning with the graduating class of 2020, successful completion of the following secondary computer science courses may be used to fulfill these requirements:

- 10159E10SL Computer Science, SL, IB
- 10159E10HL Computer Science, HL, IB
- 10157E1000 Computer Science A, AP
- 10019E1000 Computer Science Principles, AP
- 10012G1001 Exploring Computer Science
- 10013G1000 Computer Science Essentials-PLTW
- 10012G1002 Introduction to Computer Science—TEALS
- 10016G1000 Cybersecurity-PLTW
- 10011G1000 Introduction to Digital Literacy and Computer Science ACCESS
- 10152G1001 Programming Foundations

In addition, approved postsecondary dual enrollment computer science courses may be found on the current Dual Enrollment Equivalency List here.

The courses listed above may be used to fulfill a student's fourth credit in mathematics or the third and/or fourth credit in science; however, one computer science course may not be used to satisfy both science and mathematics credits. Credit for mathematics and/or science may be awarded for these courses from teachers holding the appropriate certification in the endorsements listed for the approved computer science courses above. Course information can be accessed at https://courses.alsde.edu.

If you have questions or need additional information, please contact Ms. Dawn Morrison, Career and Technical Education/Workforce Development, by email at dmorrison@alsde.edu or by telephone at (334) 694-4762 or Mr. Sean J. Stevens, Instructional Services, by email at sstevens@alsde.edu or by telephone at (334) 694-4768.

EGM/SJS/AD

cc: Mrs. Angela Martin Mr. Sean J. Stevens
Dr. Melissa Shields Ms. Shavon Y. Harris
Dr. Jimmy Hull Mrs. Amanda Dykes
Ms. Dawn Morrison Dr. Kelly Stanton

FY23-2063

Alabama State Board

Governor Kay Ivey

Jackie Zeigler District I

Tracje West District II President Pro Tem

Stephanie Bei

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Torrya S. Chestmut, Ed.D. District V

> Marie Manning District VI

Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII Vice President

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer