

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

January 31, 2024

<u>M E M O R A N D U M</u>

TO: City and County Superintendents of Education

FROM: Eric G. Mackey EAM State Superintendent of Education

SUBJECT: Assistance for Teachers Seeking National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) Certification in 2024

The Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE), in cooperation with the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS), will assist teachers who are interested in applying for National Board Certification as first-time candidates. The state has been awarded funds to pay the \$1,900 assessment fee required by the NBPTS for candidates meeting the following conditions:

- 1. Have a baccalaureate or higher degree.
 - 2. Teach full-time in a public K-12 school.
 - 3. Commit to teach three (3) years in an Alabama K-12 school.
 - 4. Commit to completing the National Board Certified Teacher (NBCT) Portfolio (all four [4] components).
 - 5. Be responsible for paying the registration fee (\$75 each year of candidacy).
 - 6. Have an annual household income that does not exceed three times the most recently available median household income or \$150,000.

The 2024 Alabama NBCT Scholarship Application can be accessed by clicking the link at https://tinyurl.com/svx9n4mm.

In addition, each Regional Inservice Center has the link on their website. The deadline for submitting an application is March 31, 2024.

If you have any questions regarding this memorandum, please contact Dr. Boyd Rogan by email at <u>boydrogan21@gmail.com</u>.

EGM:AM:PAF

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer Mrs. Angela Martin Dr. Melissa Shields Dr. Brandon T. Payne Dr. Boyd Rogan

FY24-2026

CC:

GORDON PERSONS BUILDING • P.O. BOX 302101 • MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 36130-2101 • TELEPHONE (334) 694-4900 • WEBSITE: www.alabamaachieves.org

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigler District I

> Tracie West District II Vice President

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V President Pro Tem

> Marie Manning District VI

Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII