

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

August 12, 2020

MEMORANDUM

- **TO:** County and City Superintendents
- FROM: Eric G. Mackey State Superintendent of Education
- **RE:** Request for Federal Funds (ES-2)

This memorandum is to remind you of the importance of submitting the monthly Summary of Federal Funds Reports (Form ES-2) for the month ending August 2020 in a timely manner. This report with your original signature should be in our office by August 28, 2020, to ensure payment before the end of the fiscal year. This will apply to the ES-2 for federal funds not paid through e-GAP including those for the CARES Act funds. All request forms for ESSER and GEER funds must have the description of the disbursements and estimated disbursements in the "Remarks" section and documentation showing that devices and equipment have been received.

For e-GAP funds, the requests with all LEA-level approvals should also be completed by August 28, 2020. Due to the state fiscal year closeout process and deadlines imposed by the State Comptroller's Office, requests for funds that are received later than this deadline may not be processed for payment until after October 1, 2020.

Please note that if you have an unapproved systemwide budget amendment that includes carryover, we will not be able to process any payment for carryover until after it is approved. If you submit your ES-2 timely, but the amendment is still not approved, then those funds cannot be disbursed to you. You may only request reimbursement of current year funds.

Your cooperation in this matter is appreciated. If you have any questions, please call your assigned accountant at (334) 694-4617.

EGM:AC:NS

cc: Chief School Financial Officers LEA Accounting

FY20-3039

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigler District I Vice President

> > Tracie West District II

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV President Pro Tem

Tommie T. Stewart, Ph.D. District V

Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D. District VI

> Jeff Newman District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer