

## STATE OF ALABAMA **DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION**



Fric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey Presiden

> Jackie Zeigler District Vice President

Tracie West District II

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV President Pro Tem

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V

Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D. District VI

> Belinda McRae District VII

Wavne Revnolds, Ed.D. District VIII

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer

June 23, 2021

## <u>MEMORANDUM</u>

TO: City and County Superintendents of Education

- FROM: Eric G. Mackey State Superintendent of Education
- RE: Gifted Education Program - Act No. 2021-342 and ETF Budget Fiscal Year (FY) 2022

For the 2021-2022 school year, the Alabama Legislature set aside \$4.875 million for gifted education and each local education agency (LEA) receives funding based on Child Count. According to Act No. 2021-342, the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) will offer grants to LEAs for the purpose of developing new advanced educational and specialized programs for gifted or talented children. For the 2021-2022 school year, the cumulative disbursement will be based on a \$4 million budget allocation. The remaining \$875,000 will be awarded to LEAs through a competitive grant process.

The ALSDE will award available grants to public schools for the purpose of initiating new programs or continuing existing programs to offer advanced and specialized educational services to gifted or talented children. The maximum award for an applicant is \$30,000. The appropriate LEA must match five percent (5%) of any grant funds awarded by the ALSDE under this act.

To access the enclosed Application for Gifted and Talented Students Education Program.

If you have any questions, please contact Mrs. Ashley Strickland at 334-694-4782.

EGM/AS/MP

Enclosure

cc: City and County Special Education Coordinators City and County Gifted Coordinators Mr. Andy Craig Dr. Daniel Boyd Mrs. Angela Martin Mrs. Shanthia Washington Dr. DaLee Chambers Mrs. Erika Richburg Ms. Alicia Hodge Mrs. Ashley Strickland FY21-2068