

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 5, 2024 Contact: Communication (334) 694-4686 <u>comm@alsde.edu</u>

ALABAMA "SWEET 16" FINALISTS FOR STATE TEACHER OF THE YEAR ANNOUNCED TODAY

"Highlighting Our Top Educators and Their Dedication to the Teaching Profession"

Montgomery, Ala. – Teachers are an essential part of our lives. They inspire us to reach our full potential and instill an appreciation for learning in each of us.

Our teachers support us and want each of us to flourish and achieve a lifetime of success.

Today, 16 outstanding educators have officially been selected as finalists for the 2024-2025 Alabama Teacher of the Year (TOY) Award. Each personifies true classroom excellence and consistently excels in the profession.

Alabama Teacher of the Year is one of our state's oldest and most esteemed awards.

This year's 16 finalists soared into consideration for this award from a highly skilled group of more than 155 top educators, who submitted applications for this year's state honor.

Alabama State Department of Education - 2024-2025 District Teachers of the Year

Shelley Grimes Enterprise City School System – Brookwood Elementary School District I Elementary Teacher of the Year

Rylee Baxter Enterprise City School System – Enterprise High School District I Secondary Teacher of the Year

Deana S. Hooks Auburn City School System – Pick Elementary School District II Elementary Teacher of the Year

Katie Dye Randolph County School System – Randolph County High School District II Secondary Teacher of the Year

Deborah Stringfellow

Elmore County School System – Airport Road Intermediate School District III Elementary Teacher of the Year

-more -

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigler District I

Tracie West District II Vice President

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V President Pro Tem

> Marie Manning District VI

Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer 2024-2025 Alabama TOY 16 Finalists Announcement

Kira Ledbetter Aaron

Vestavia Hills City School System – Vestavia Hills High School Freshman Campus District III Secondary Teacher of the Year

Sharya J. Aaron

Birmingham City School System – Sun Valley Elementary School District IV Elementary Teacher of the Year

Dr. Sarah Frances Moland

Birmingham City School System– Jackson-Olin High School District IV Secondary Teacher of the Year

Laura H. Fennell

Autauga County School System – Pine Level Elementary School District V Elementary Teacher of the Year

Neysa Countryman

Saraland City School System – Saraland High School District V Secondary Teacher of the Year

Janet Kuchinski

Oxford City School System – Coldwater Elementary School District VI Elementary Teacher of the Year

Jennifer W. Dasinger

Oxford City School System – Oxford High School District VI Secondary Teacher of the Year

Melissa T. Bryan

Jasper City School System – Maddox Intermediate School District VII Elementary Teacher of the Year

Derick A. Franck

Florence City School System – Florence Middle School District VII Secondary Teacher of the Year

Shannon Williamson

Huntsville City School System – Blossomwood Elementary School District VIII Elementary Teacher of the Year

Kristen Brown

Madison City School System – Liberty Middle School District VIII Secondary Teacher of the Year

Alabama's Teacher of the Year spends the school year serving as a full-time, official ambassador for both education and the teaching profession.

Alabama's representative is a candidate for National Teacher of the Year and also conducts professional-level workshops to various groups at the local and national levels.

2024-2025 Alabama TOY 16 Finalists Announcement

This year's pool of 16 outstanding educators will soon be narrowed down to the final *Top Four*. The 2024-2025 Alabama Teacher of the Year will be announced by the Alabama State Board of Education and Alabama State Department of Education in May.

Reflecting on his experiences, Alabama's current Teacher of the Year, Jeff Norris, said, "We are proud to extend special congratulations to these exceptional educators who were officially selected as a part of the Alabama Teacher of the Year 16 Finalists. Each is a great candidate, and we cannot wait to see who will be named the 2024-2025 Alabama Teacher of the Year. They truly exemplify excellence and outstanding classroom leadership."

###