

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D.
State Superintendent of Education

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 9, 2024

Contact: Communication (334) 694-4686 comm@alsde.edu

THREE ALABAMA STUDENTS NAMED 2024 U.S. PRESIDENTIAL SCHOLARS

Montgomery, Ala. – Today, the United States Department of Education announced the 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars, recognizing 161 high school seniors for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education fields.

The Alabama scholars include (hometown, scholar, school, location):

- AL Huntsville Manav Aggarwal, Randolph School, Huntsville, Alabama.
- AL Madison Samantha Si-Wai Chan, Bob Jones High School, Madison, Alabama.
- AL Trussville Nalin J. Reed, Alabama School of Fine Arts, Birmingham, Alabama. (Presidential Scholar in the Arts)

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on academic success, excellence in the arts and in technical education, through essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as a commitment to community service and leadership.

State Superintendent, Eric Mackey said these Alabamians are true examples of academic excellence. "I, along with the Alabama State Board of Education, congratulate these scholars on their academic success. We look forward to seeing the impact they have on their communities and the world."

Of the 3.7 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 5,700 candidates qualified for the 2024 awards determined by outstanding performance on the College Board SAT or ACT exams or through nominations made by chief state school officers, other partner recognition organizations and YoungArts, the National Foundation for the Advancement of Artists.

As directed by Presidential Executive Order, the 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars are comprised of two students from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large, 20 scholars in the arts and 20 scholars in career and technical education.

Created in 1964, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program has honored over 8,200 of the nation's top-performing students. The program was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary, and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. 2024 is the program's 60th anniversary.

The Presidential Scholars Class of 2024 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement this summer with an online recognition program. A complete list of 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars is available at <u>U.S. Department of Education</u>.

###

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigler District I

Tracie West District II Vice President

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D.

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V President Pro Tem

> Marie Manning District VI

Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer