RESOLUTION IN RECOGNITION OF ALABAMA 2025 PURPLE STAR SCHOOLS

WHEREAS, today over one million Americans are bravely serving in the United States Armed Services. More than 300,000 Alabamians served their nation at home and abroad; and

WHEREAS, over 40,000 children in the State of Alabama are members of military families; and

WHEREAS, students who have parents in the military may experience unique challenges as a result of their family's military service including attending multiple schools; and

WHEREAS, frequent moves, family separations through deployments, and reintegration which can cause academic difficulties for youth; and

WHEREAS, the month of April has been designated as the Month of the Military Child; and

WHEREAS, the Alabama Purple Star Class of 2025 is committed to meeting the unique needs of all students, especially those of military youth:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Alabama State Board of Education does hereby commend and congratulate Alabama Purple Star Class of 2025, comprised of the 15 school districts and 124 schools listed below, for their support and commitment to military personnel, their families, and veterans; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Alabama State Board of Education does hereby proclaim April 18, 2025, as Purple Up Day and encourages local boards of education, schools, business professionals, and community organizations to participate in this celebration through activities that demonstrate the importance of Alabama's military community and Purple Star Schools.

Autauga County School System

Pine Level Elementary School, Prattville Elementary School, Prattville Intermediate School, Prattville Kindergarten School, Prattville Primary School, and Marbury High School

Baldwin County School System

Florence B Mathis Elementary School, Spanish Fort High School, and Stonebridge Elementary School

Cullman County School System

Good Hope Elementary School, Good Hope Primary School, Hanceville Middle School, Vinemont Elementary School, and Vinemont High School

Dale County School System

Midland City Elementary School and South Dale Middle School

Decatur City School System

Austin High School, Austin Junior High School, Austin Middle School, Austinville Elementary School, Banks-Caddell Elementary School, Benjamin Davis Elementary School, Chestnut Grove Elementary School, Decatur High School, Eastwood Elementary School, Frances Nungester Elementary School, Julian Harris Elementary School, Leon Sheffield Magnet School, Oak Park Elementary School, Walter Jackson Elementary School, West Decatur Elementary School, and Woodmeade Elementary School

Elmore County School System

Coosada Elementary School, Eclectic Middle School, Holtville High School, Millbrook Middle School, Stanhope Elmore High School, The Edge Virtual School, and Wetumpka Middle School

Homewood City School System

Edgewood Elementary School, Hall-Kent Elementary School, Homewood High School, Homewood Middle School, and Shades Cahaba Elementary School

Huntsville City School System

Academy for Academics & Arts Elementary School, Academy for Academics and Arts Middle School, Academy for Science & Foreign Language Elementary School, Academy for Science & Foreign Language Middle School, Blossomwood Elementary School, Challenger Elementary School, Challenger Middle School, Chapman Elementary School, Chapman Middle School, Columbia High School, Farley Elementary School, Goldsmith Schiffman Elementary School, Grissom High School, Hampton Cove Elementary School, Hampton Cove Middle School, Huntsville High School, Huntsville Junior High School, James I Dawson Elementary School, Jemison High School, Jones Valley Elementary School, Lakewood Elementary School, Lee High School

Huntsville City School System Continuation

Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary School, McDonnell Elementary School, Monte Sano Elementary School, Montview Elementary School, Morris Elementary School, Morris Middle School, Mountain Gap Elementary School, Mountain Gap Middle School, New Century Technology High School, Providence Elementary School, Ridgecrest Elementary School, Rolling Hills Elementary School, Ronald E. McNair Junior High School, Sonnie Hereford Elementary School, Weatherly Heights Elementary School, Whitesburg Elementary School, Whitesburg Middle School, Williams Elementary School, and Williams Middle School

Jackson County School System

Hollywood Elementary School

Lee County School System

Beauregard Elementary School, Beulah Elementary School, Beulah High School, East Smiths Station Elementary School, Loachapoka Elementary School, Smiths Station High School, Wacoochee Elementary School, and West Smiths Station Elementary School

Madison County School System
Buckhorn High School, Buckhorn Middle School, Central School, Harvest Elementary School, Endeavor Elementary School, Hazel Green Elementary School, Hazel Green High School, Legacy Elementary School, Lynn Fanning Elementary School, Madison County Elementary School, Madison County High School, Madison County Virtual Academy, Meridianville Middle School, Moores Mill Intermediate School, New Hope High School, New Market Elementary School, Owens Cross Roads Elementary School, Riverton Intermediate School, Sparkman Ninth Grade School, and Sparkman High School

Ozark City School System

D. A. Smith Middle School

Phenix City School System

Westview Elementary School

Russell County School System

Dixie Elementary School, Ladonia Elementary School, Mount Olive Intermediate School, Mount Olive Primary School, Oliver Elementary School, Russell County Middle School, and Russell County High School

Trussville City School System

Hewitt-Trussville High School

Other

Alabama School of Cyber Technology & Engineering, Huntsville Christian Academy, and Ivy Classical Academy Independent School

Done this 10th day of April 2025