RESOLUTION TO APPOINT THE 2025-2026 STATE TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE FOR ARTS EDUCATION

WHEREAS, the *Code of Alabama* 1975, §16-36-60, provides for the appointment of a State Textbook Committee; and

WHEREAS, said law provides that four elementary teachers and four high school teachers are to be selected to serve on the State Textbook Committee and are to come from each of the eight State Board of Education districts of Alabama; and

WHEREAS, said law provides that four people who shall be teachers, principals, supervisors, or superintendents are to be selected from the state-at-large; and

WHEREAS, said law provides that two members of said State Textbook Committee are to be selected from the institutions of higher learning; and

WHEREAS, said law provides that the fourteen people on the attached list are to be nominated to the Alabama State Board of Education by the State Superintendent of Education; and

WHEREAS, the State Superintendent of Education recommends approval:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the people on the attached list are hereby appointed to the 2025-2026 State Arts Education Textbook Committee for a term beginning April 23, 2025, and ending on April 23, 2026; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this Board recognizes that said law provides that the Governor of Alabama is to appoint nine people not in the field of education to serve on this State Textbook Committee and welcomes them to full membership; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That State Superintendent of Education Eric G. Mackey is hereby authorized to fill any vacancy that may occur on this State Textbook Committee until the next meeting of this Alabama State Board of Education after such vacancy occurs and same to be added as ad interim business.

Done on this 10th day of April 2025

2025-2026 ARTS EDUCATION STATE TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE

TERM: APRIL 23, 2025 – APRIL 23, 2026

ALABAMA STATE BOARD DISTRICT

I	Kimberly Boucher	Elementary	Baldwin County
П	Clifton Washburn	Secondary	Eufaula City
III	Heather Cantwell	Secondary	Vestavia Hills City
IV	Ebony Hinton	Secondary	Birmingham City
V	Natalie Roig-McKnight	Secondary	Montgomery County
VI	Amanda McKinney	Elementary	Cullman County
VII	Emily Rush	Elementary	Russellville City
VIII	Stephanie Burns	Elementary	Madison City
	-		

STATE-AT-LARGE

Α.	Nathan Kilgo	Teacher	Cullman County
В.	Bryan Nalls	Administrator	Birmingham City
C.	Gregory Gumina	Administrator	Jefferson County
D.	Sharon Abbott	Teacher	Jasper City

INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER LEARNING

A.	Terrance Lewis	Assistant Professor, University of Alabama
В.	Andrea Jarmon	Education Coordinator, Auburn University

Done this 10th day of April 2025